Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A question of conscience

Body Under Construction thalakos84's Avatar

A question of conscience

First off, let me start by saying that my life is dedicated to my Creator. I know this is a controversial subject, and maybe not appropriate for these forums. I'm looking for insite from those of a similar faith.

I've been weight-training for about 5 years now. I started training for aesthetics, then for strength, and now for form and function. What I like is that progress is easily measurable. Stagnation in life is death. I want to keep growing, in ALL aspects. But the body is easier to forge than the mind. BUT, I've recently realized that I am VAIN and I am overly concerned with appearance. This is despite all of my efforts to overcome it and deny it. But the truth is that I am Selfish, I am Conceited, and I am Distracted by what doesn't matter. I want to focus my life.

I'm in the best shape of my life. I'm 23 years old, 150lbs at 5'9" . I'm very active and energetic. I LOVE LIFE! But how far do I take this training?

People are distracted by my appearance. I have a hard time getting to know new people. They are distracted, or have some sort of preconcieved notion about who I am and what I'm about. I know that's true about everyone in every situation, but SEX keeps peoples minds from focusing on character. Just look at the media.

It's all entertainment, distraction, self-indulgence, and ME ME ME. It's sad to see weight-training get such a bad rap. People assume I'm se lf-absorbed before they even know my name. ALMOST every magazine in the newstands is geared towards vanity, sex, and entertainment. Every other page is an advertisement for some NOS or test booster with some chemically-altered man or vivacious vixen posing. Is that our motivation? What ever happened to taking what God gave you and making it the best it could be? Mind, body, and soul. No shortcuts. Just pain, experience, work, and time.